0 %

O/Modernt Composer Award

In 2020 O/Modernt holds its second composition award

in collaboration with Gehrmans Musikförlag & Goethe-Institut Schweden

Revise the future

O/Modernt embraces the world of contemporary music, collaborating with composers of all ages, from all over the world. In total O/Modernt has commissioned over forty works in the last nine years, ranging from short solo works for harpsichord to fully-fledged cantatas and symphonic concertos.

In 2020 O/Modernt holds its second composition award in collaboration with Gehrmans Musikförlag and Goethe-Institut Schweden.

To celebrate the 100-year anniversary of the Romanian-born poet Paul Celan, applicants are asked to write a work in response to the man either as poet, thinker or human being. In particular the applicants are asked to reflect through sound on the universal themes of hope and suffering.

In the tenth edition of the festival in June 2020 O/Modernt will celebrate Schubert, a master in the expression of tragedy commingled with luminous hope.

€1,500 in prize money Travel expenses to attend the world premiere
Publication with Gehrmans Musikförlag Premiere at Festival O/Modernt in June 2020
2019 Winner Frej Wedlund
2019 Winner
2019 Winner
Frej Wedlund

The inaugural O/Modernt Composition Award asked applicants to 'misread' of Beethoven's Symphony No. 3 ('Eroica') as the starting point for a Piano Quintet.

Frej Wedlund was the first prize winner, with the following comment from the jury:

'Frej Wedlund's Piano Quintet is a technically advanced, intensive and intellectually challenging work, which communicates a clear vision and creates its own sound world.'

Frej Wedlund is educated at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm and is currently studying the master's program in composition at the Royal Danish Music Conservatory in Copenhagen. His music has been performed by world-leading ensembles such as the Arditti Quartet and ensemble research in the Nordic countries, Europe and the USA. He has previously won, among others, 4 × 4 Prizes 2016 and the North Carolina New Music Initiative 2018 for the orchestra's work Half-light on desolation. The string quartet Plasticity has recently achieved great success, and was selected for Nordic Music Days 2019, Young Nordic Music 2019, Mise-En Music Festival 2019, and was listed for the British Ivan Juritz Prize 2019.