0 %

Schubert and the Sound of Memory

11 - 16 June 2021


Venue: Slottskapellet

‘Nothing comes from nothing’ is a maxim that (with some venerable exceptions!) has been a guiding principle throughout the long history of western art. It’s recalled in the paradox coined by John Cage that provides Festival O/Modernt with its motto: ‘the past must be invented, the future revised.’ This is the spirit in which the Edvard Grieg Kor presents a gorgeous programme of vocal music that recollects, reinvents and expressly takes inspiration from older works.

Edvard Grieg Kor


FRANZ SCHUBERT Erster Verlust D 226
MOGENS PEDERSØN Ecco la primavera
HEINRICH SCHÜTZ O primavera, gioventù de l’anno, O dolcezze amarissime d’amore
CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI Io mi son giovinetta
THOMAS TALLIS Salvator mundi
CHERYL FRANCES-HOAD From the Beginning of the World
DAVID LANG Last Spring
EDVARD GRIEG (arr. Hansford) Våren
EDVARD GRIEG (arr. Rathbone) Selection from Holberg Suite

Duration 1 hour

Memories of a Wanderer

‘I wander, silent and forlorn, my sighs forever asking: where?’ Far from home, the protagonist of Schubert’s Wanderer lives in his mind, sustained by memories and dreams. The image of itinerant isolation, as the cue for the artistic exploration of identity, is structurally and emotionally at the very heart of Schubert’s music. Including the wandering tonalities of Schoenberg, along with freewheeling jazz, a remembrance of Wagner, and the winner of the O/Modernt 2020 composition award, this concert celebrates the music of wandering as the road to self-discovery.

Artists to include
Luciana Mancini mezzo soprano
Hugo Ticciati violin
Dana Zemtsov viola
Gareth Lubbe viola
Julian Arp cello
Jordi Carrasco-Hjelm double bass
Erik Rydvall nykelharpa
Tord Gustavsen piano
Dirk Mommertz piano
Marzi Nyman electric guitar

Programme to include

FRANZ SCHUBERT Der Wanderer D 493
FRANZ SCHUBERT Wanderers Nachtlied D 768
RICHARD WAGNER Siegfried Idyll WWV 103
FRANZ SCHUBERT Ländler and ARNOLD SCHOENBERG Sechs kleine Klavierstücke Op. 19 interspersed with Jazz improvisations
Jam Session inspired by FRANZ SCHUBERT’s Erlkönig

Duration 3 hours

Luciana Mancini mezzo-soprano
Luciana Mancini
Luciana Mancini

Mezzosoprano Luciana Mancini was born in Sweden, but has Chilean roots. She received her bachelor degree in Classical Singing and Early Music Performance Practice from the Royal Conservatory of The Hague in Holland, where she subsequently joined the Opera Studio. In 2009 she received her Master’s degree, writing a thesis on Italian monodies of the 1600s. Luciana åhas sung under conductors including René Jacobs, Jean-Christophe Spinosi, Enrico Onofri, Pablo Heras-Casado, Neeme Järvi and Juanjo Mena; she has also collaborated with numerous ensembles, notably L’Arpeggiata, La Fenice, Lautten Compagney, Divino Sospiro, Orquesta Barroca de Sevilla, Ensemble Matthäus, and the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, singing at venues including the Staatsoper Berlin, Theater an der Wien, Drottningholm Palace Theatre, Carnegie Hall, the Opera Comique and the Margravial Opera House in Bayreuth. Luciana has worked with stage directors such as Benjamin Lazar, Sigrid T’Hooft, Pablo Maritano, Achim Freyer, and with the choreographer Sasha Waltz.

Tord Gustavsen Piano
Tord Gustavsen
Tord Gustavsen
Dirk Mommertz Piano
Dirk Mommertz
Dirk Mommertz

After being a junior student with Grigorij Gruzman at the “Akademie für Tonkunst” Darmstadt he studied at the “Musikhochschule Karlsruhe” with André Boanain,at the “Musikhochschule Frankfurt” with Lev Natochenny and at the “Conservatoire National Superieur de Musique Paris” with George Pludermacher. 1st prize at the competition of the “Musikhochschule Karlsruhe” with piano solo in 1996, in 1997 1st prize as a Duo with violin, 3rd prize at the “Newport International Piano Competition” (Great Britain).

In 1998 1st prize at the “International Music Competition Torino” (Italy), 2nd prize at the “Kuhmo International Duo Competition” (Finnland). Radio- and TV productions; performed as a soloist for example with the BBC Symphony Orchestra and the “Stuttgarter Kammerorchester”). Lecturer for piano at the “Musikhochschule Karlsruhe”.

join us in our musical remembrance of things past through Schubert Festival